#sohotrightnow- February Edition

Another dreary winter month has come and gone and we are one step closer to Spring! But I don’t want to diss too hard on February as it definitely had it’s moments (birthday celebrations, snow days, a surprise engagement party, a belated Valentine’s Day with the MLB and of course tons of tasty culinary creations in the kitchen).

So without further adieu, here were a few of my February Favorites-

1. Smitten Artisan Truffles

2-24-2014 9-50-29 PM

HOLY CANNOLI this is hands down the best chocolate I have ever had, EV-AR. Seriously, I eat a piece of chocolate (dark and full of antioxidants obvi) every day and consider myself somewhat of a connoisseur, and this stuff is the real deal. Made with the finest blend of dark Belgian chocolate and coconut cream, these babies are gluten and dairy-free, and insanely delicious. Try the Vanilla Caramel + Tahitian Vanilla Bean Sea Salt, and you will foodgasm like you never have before.

2. Vegan Yogurt

photo-68Juicebox’s Vegan Coconut Yogurt

Lately I have been obsessed with all things yogurt. I know, the yogurt you’re probably most familiar with contains dairy and is thus hard to digest, causes constipation and acne, and contains hormones and other additives as well as the cancer-causing protein casein. But I’m not talking about yogurt from cows, I’m talking about the good stuff from coconut milk, or cashews, or blended banana and chia seeds. I find it even tastier than the yogurt I grew up with, as well as much better for me! I’ve been mixing it with berries, granola, and even using Greek versions in savory dishes (see below).

Cashew_yogurt_04Green Kitchen Stories’ Cashewgurt

photo-44Sofreshnsogreen’s Banana Strawberry Coconut Yogurt

beetsalad4Love and Lemon’s Jalapeno Yogurt Sauce (used in my Buddha Bowl image directly below)

3. Buddha Bowl #Inspo

photo-66

The Buddha Bowl continues to be a constant staple in this household for many reasons. It can stand the test of any season and is especially nourishing and filling during these winter months when you crave something more substantial. You can swap ingredients for whatever you have lying around or are craving, but the basic concept is a whole grain (quinoa, brown rice), proteins (such as beans or nuts), tons of veggies (both raw and roasted), healthy fats (like avocado) and of course some sort of delicious sauce to harmonize the dish. Lately my fave has consisted of roasted beets and brussel sprouts, pan-friend spicy chickpeas, cauliflower rice, avocado, and a jalapeno honey Greek yogurt coconut sauce that is TDF (see image above). MLB loves this dish as much as I do, and I can bet you will too! See below for more buddha bowl #inspo.

wordsThe Balance Bowl Made Easy

super-food-bowls-17Vintage Mixer’s Superfood Bowl

Quinoa_Bowl_Crispy_Baked_Kale_Cauliflower_Carrots_Recipe_001Crispy Baked Kale & Cauliflower Quinoa Bowl

photo-15Sofreshnsogreen’s Original Buddha Bowl

4. Cauliflower Rice

IMG_0081

This dish tastes just like quinoa, but is actually made with cauliflower ground up in a food processor and it is effing #GENIUS. I’ve been using this in my buddha bowls as of late, and it is a fantastic, tasty and healthy alternative if you are trying to avoid grains, or maintain a low-carb, paleo diet.

5. Vegan Banana Nut Muffin Pancakes

Banana-Nut-Muffin-Pancakes

The MLB LOVES his pancakes, and these are his new faves (as well as mine). The streusel in the middle takes these babies to a whole nother level (and they legitimately taste like banana nut muffins). I substituted Bob’s Redmill GF Pancake Mix because I’m lazy and topped with peanut butter, bananas, cinnamon and maple syrup for the ultimate brunch indulgence.

Hope you enjoyed. Happy Friday Betches!

2 thoughts on “#sohotrightnow- February Edition

  1. Lauren I love your blog!! Amd your recipes!! You may be slightly converting me… Haha. Im gonna attempt that Buddah bowl asap. I make the sweet potato/black bean tacos often. So yum!

Leave a Reply

