Roasted Cauliflower Crack

Garlic Roasted Cauliflower with Pinenuts

Garlic Roasted Cauliflower with Pinenuts

As I previously mentioned, I’ve never done crack (c’mon- seriously?!) That being said, if crack came in an edible form (it very well may already) I imagine it would taste much like this roasted cauliflower dish. Because it is addictive. Like, REALLY addictive. I actually recommend you don’t make too much because if you’re like me you won’t stop eating it until every last tiny garlic encrusted floret is scraped from the bottom of the pan.

Unlike crack however, this dish is actually good for you. The cruciferous veg is high in b vitamins and fiber, low in calories, prevents chronic inflammation, protects against heart disease and has been been linked to a significant reduction in the risk of cancer.

I first had a dish very similar to this at a dinner party my parents threw. It was a huge hit with everyone (the majority of the guests being full-fledged carnivores) and if you make it you too, will soon see why. The concept is as simple as it gets- toss with garlic, olive oil, sea-salt and pepper then roast at a high heat until the veg is tender and the edges turn crispy and golden brown. Top it with pine nuts, then serve this crowd pleaser as a side dish or a main (as I like to do) alongside some sauteed kale and green salad.

photo (41)

Garlic Roasted Cauliflower a la moi- Serves 2 as main or 4 as a side

Ingredients

1 large head cauliflower, trimmed and cut into florets

8 cloves garlic, peeled and minced

1/2 cup pine nuts

3 tbsp olive oil

1-2 tsps sea salt

black pepper

1. Preheat the oven to 450. Cut your cauli into bite size florets. Toss in a pan with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic.

photo (38)

2. Toss the mixture in the oven and roast for 25-30 minutes, flipping half way through. Make sure the edges are golden brown before you remove. You may want to even broil for a couple additional minutes to get that extra crispiness.

3. Top with the pine nuts (or even a splash of lemon) and get ready for the gastrointestinal high of a lifetime.

photo (45)

Meat- lovin’ boyfriend thinks this dish is quite savory and nice, but much nicer served alongside some meat. We’ve agreed to disagree.

7 thoughts on “Roasted Cauliflower Crack

  1. I’ve never seen cauliflower as a relevant vegetable in any fashion. That said, I tried recipe this last night and I’m now officially a Roasted Cauliflower Crack ADDICT! I made a variation to the recipe and instead of pine nuts I used 1/2 a tablespoon of cold milled Flaxseed in the baking process then sprinkled a little under half a tablespoon more over it before I put put in a a bowl and consumed it like boss! I was so addicted immediately that I dragged my boyfriend out to the grocery store and we bought two more heads to make more tonight. Easiest, best tasting treat I can imagine making. Thanks for the post!

    • It’s so nice to know I’m not alone with my addiction! I don’t know what it is about the cauliflower but it really soaks in all the flavors. Stoked to hear you are now a converted cauliflower crack lover and thanks for the Flaxseed tip – I’ll have to try it!

      • The flaxseed meal cuts the calories (pine nuts – my favorite are really high in calories). Thanks again and next up is the butternut squash soup!

  2. Pingback: #sohotrightnow- January Edition | sofreshnsogreen

Leave a Reply

