The 411 on The Dr. Oz Cleanse

Breakfast Smoothie

Breakfast Smoothie

Call it cliche’, but it’s January and I just completed my first cleanse- courtesy of Dr. Oz himself. This guy really knows his stuff and is way too good at tricking people into thinking his 3 day cleanse doesn’t sound all that bad (trust me, it is).

I was initially lured by the promise of yummy sounding smoothies (how can a frozen concotion with almond butter and bananas be bad?) and the concept of a detox itself  (who wouldn’t want to rid their body of harmful toxins, look and feel better, shed a few lbs, have more energy, etc.) But the idea of a cleanse is one thing. Actually following through with a cleanse is quite another.

I can honestly say these past few days seemed like the longest three days of my life. If you had to be around me, I truly am sorry. I was hungry, cranky, tired, hungry. My obsession with food escalated to a whole new level as I tortured myself watching episodes of Top Chef and scoured food blogs for recipes I could enjoy post-cleanse. I also worked my way through a pack and a half of gum a day because all I wanted to do was chew something.

Yet, here I am, one day post-cleanse and feeling fan-freaking-tastic. It was weird, and maybe it’s because I knew I actually could allow myself to eat real food, that it didn’t hold as much appeal to me. I wasn’t as hungry and couldn’t eat as much without feeling super full and lethargic afterwards. I also treated myself to a grande latte and sort of felt like I was on crack (not that I really know what that feels like, but one can imagine). I don’t know if I lost any weight, because I didn’t weigh myself to begin with, but meat-lovin’ boyfriend lost 7 pounds (isn’t it ridic how quickly men shed lbs?!)  I did however notice a difference in my skin (more radiant!) my stomach (less bloated! no cramps!!) and I slept like a rock.

So, my bottom line- cleanses suck. But they do have their benefits (especially after they’re over) so if you’re contemplating a dose of detox, this one may be a good start. Here’s what you need:

Your Shopping Guide

Your Shopping Guide

Here’s how you make it happen:

The 3-day cleanse

The 3-day cleanse

Here are my tips:

1. The breakfast smoothie is the tastiest option of the three by far, so I recommend doubling that one for your snack drink (you get one snack drink a day and can choose from any of the three).

2. The lunch smoothie is just nasty- I cheated and added more pineapple and less celery/cucumber. It still didn’t really help.

3. WARNING- Do not put the full amount of cayenne into the dinner drink if you are sensitive to spice/want to actually somewhat enjoy it. I decreased the cayenne and added a bit of cinnamon and stevia.

4. My favorite part of this cleanse is the Detox Ultra Bath. I’ve always thought people who take baths are weird but I swear this will totally relax you and you will remember why as a child you once loved baths.

DISCLAIMER- I cheated all three days with a pack of Justin’s almond butter. Whatever, you try it first,  then I’ll let you judge me.

I know this blog post is super long and if you’ve made it this far I commend you. I do want to emphasize that a cleanse is effective to help jump-start the process of getting your body on track,  but I believe long-term shifts in your lifestyle are far more affective in cleansing your body on a continual and deeper basis. I’ll depart with some wise words from Dr. Oz himself on why his cleanse could be beneficial and a link to find out if you yourself should partake in one.

“When I say “cleanse,” I mean it in the sense of true cleaning—a strategy that helps your body rid itself of toxins. We’re exposed to harmful substances all the time; they’re in our diet (pesticides, microbes, and mercury, to name a few) and the very air we breathe (think disinfectants, deodorizers, and the gasses released by fresh paint). Fortunately, we have an excellent system in place to handle those toxins: Enzymes throughout the body are continuously breaking them down and helping to flush them out. My detox works by optimizing that system. It involves smoothies packed with nutrients believed to boost the activity of the enzymes and nourish the body’s most important detoxifying organs—the liver, the lungs, the kidneys, and the colon—so they can do their jobs better and more efficiently. “

8 thoughts on “The 411 on The Dr. Oz Cleanse

  1. Super helpful and insightful! I have been tossing around the idea of a cleanse but didn’t know anyone who’d actually gone through with it. It sounds tough but I think i could do it! Great job and kudos to you for completing it!

    • Thanks Mollie- I know you could do it! If you need help or addition tips, let me know 🙂 It might also be easier to do it with someone else, so you can complain to one another about how hungry you are (and also motivate each other too)!

  2. I’m loving your new blog Lauren! Your writing cracks me up! Does this mean you’re drinking 4 smoothies/day? I was unsure about the “snack” portion.

    • Aww thanks Megan- that totally makes my day! And yes you’re right- during this cleanse you’ll drink 4 smoothies a day. You can choose from the breakfast, lunch, or dinner smoothie as a snack.

  3. Pingback: Roasted Cauliflower Crack | sofreshnsogreen

  4. Pingback: Juicing- So Hot Right Now. | sofreshnsogreen

Leave a Reply

