Weekend Brunch + My Signature Pumpkin Pancake Recipe

Pumpkin Pancakes with whipped maple butter, syrup, raisins, brown sugar & walnuts

Pumpkin Pancakes with whipped maple butter, syrup, raisins, brown sugar & walnuts

If you’ve been reading my blog so far you already know I love me some weekend brunch. This weekend proved no different than the rest, as I had a craving for pancakes that could not be ignored and only Plum Bistro held the cure.

This Capitol Hill-based bistro serves stacks of vegan AND gluten-free pancakes (a combo quite difficult to come by) in a variety of flavors (chocolate pistachio and pomegranate kiwi?!!) that actually taste good. Like really good. I might even go so far as to say their pancakes are the second best pancakes I’ve ever had. The best being mine.

Don’t believe me? Try them for yourself and see.

nom nom nom

nom nom nom

Vegan & Gluten-Free Pumpkin Pancakes adapted from The Whole Life Nutrition Kitchen

(makes approximately 12 cakes)

1 1/2 cups Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Pancake Mix

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1 cup non-dairy milk (I use almond)

6 tbsp pumpkin puree

1 egg replacer (I use Ener-G)

2 tbsp melted coconut oil or earth balance butter

1 tbsp grade b maple syrup

coconut oil or earth balance for cooking

1. Mix dry ingredients together in one bowl.

2. Mix wet ingredients together in another bowl. Make sure the coconut oil or butter is melted and the egg replacer has already been mixed.

3. Whisk together wet and dry ingredients. I typically add almost 1/2 cup of water to thin out the mix a bit.

4. Heat the coconut oil in a frying pan on medium high heat and scoop batter out in 1/4 measurements and pour on the hot skillet.  Cook a couple minutes on each side or until the bottoms are golden brown. I like cooking mine on a slightly higher heat so the edges get crispy.

These are so easy to make it’s not even funny.I serve my hot cakes with earth balance & grade b maple syrup. Sometimes, if I’m feeling really decadent, I’ll even make a side of tempeh bacon.

Meat-lovin’ boyfriend requests these pancakes almost every weekend. Although he likes his with a side of bacon (and not of the tempeh variety).

Disclaimer– I don’t have a photo of my own pancakes to post yet, but I promise you they look almost as pretty as Plum’s. So don’t be shallow and eat up.

One thought on “Weekend Brunch + My Signature Pumpkin Pancake Recipe

  1. Pingback: Weekend Brunch + My Signature Pumpkin Pancake Recipe | sofreshnsogreen

Leave a Reply

